The Metropolitan Opera Guild

The Grand Cities of the Hapsburgs

2011-09-07 - 2011-09-17

Top Highlights:
•Top Category seats for at least 6 operas, as listed
•9 nights deluxe room accommodations in 5 star hotels (Prague: Pachtuv Palace; Vienna: Sacher; Budapest: Le Meridien)
•Full breakfast daily, 4 lunches and 3 dinners
•Private guided tours in each city, as listed
•Deluxe coach transfer Budapest to Vienna; Rail (1st Class) Vienna to Prague
•Airport‐hotel transfers
•On site Tour Direction
•Comprehensive Tour Guidebook/Itinerary

Here are three cities whose past glories still abound: Prague, Vienna and Budapest, once the stomping grounds of the mighty Hapsburg empire, remain three of the finest cities in Europe. Each provides a very different experience, yet their Hapsburg roots and their musical souls bind them together. Something of this timeless spirit is absorbed by all who spend time here, and we will spend three magical nights in each city.

One of the great capitals of Europe, Vienna bears a cultural legacy created by the many artistic geniuses nourished here. In particular, its musical legacy is legendary. Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, Strauss, Mahler, and Bruckner all lived in the city, producing music that is still played in concert halls all over the world. We will enjoy performances at the legendary Staatsoper and also at the Volksoper, and will stay at the storied Sacher Hotel.

Prague is one of the most stunning cities in Europe, a UNESCO World Heritage listed gem, lauded as the 'City of a Thousand Spires'. Prague has become the archetypal post‐communist city success story, with seemingly not a month going by without another city being hailed as the 'New Prague'. As well as exploring the history that echoes through the streets of this city, we will attend performances at the Baroque jewel that is the Estates Theater (Don Giovanni, The Abduction from the Seraglio) and also the National Theater (Aida).

Budapest is once again attracting visitors discovering the charms of a city that not only boasts a rich history and beautiful architecture, but also offers a tradition of fine culture and gastronomy. We will attend a performance of Bartók’s Bluebeard’s Castle at the Hungarian State Opera, a treasure that must be placed among Europe’s great opera houses.
For more information or a detailed itinerary
Call us at (212) 769-7000 or contact us now
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

December 2021>
SMTWTFS
2829301234
5678
Wednesday, December 08, 2021
At the Met: Eurydice
7:30 PM
9
Thursday, December 09, 2021
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: Porgy and Bess
7:30 PM
10
Friday, December 10, 2021
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
11
Saturday, December 11, 2021
At the Met: Tosca
1:00 PM
At the Met: Eurydice
8:00 PM
12
Sunday, December 12, 2021
At the Met: Score Desk Tickets: Porgy and Bess
3:00 PM
1314
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
15
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
At the Met: Tosca
7:00 PM
16
Thursday, December 16, 2021
At the Met: Eurydice
7:00 PM
17
Friday, December 17, 2021
At the Met: Cinderella
7:00 PM
18
Saturday, December 18, 2021
At the Met: The Magic Flute
1:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
8:00 PM
19
Sunday, December 19, 2021
At the Met: Cinderella
3:00 PM
202122232425
2627
Monday, December 27, 2021
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:00 PM
28
Tuesday, December 28, 2021
At the Met: Cinderella
7:00 PM
29
Wednesday, December 29, 2021
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:00 PM
30
Thursday, December 30, 2021
At the Met: Cinderella
7:00 PM
31
Friday, December 31, 2021
At the Met: Rigoletto
6:00 PM
1
Saturday, January 01, 2022
At the Met: Cinderella
1:00 PM
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:00 PM
23
Monday, January 03, 2022
At the Met: Cinderella
7:00 PM
4
Tuesday, January 04, 2022
At the Met: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
5
Wednesday, January 05, 2022
At the Met: The Magic Flute
7:30 PM
67
Friday, January 07, 2022
At the Met: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
8
Saturday, January 08, 2022
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
1:00 PM
At the Met: Tosca
8:00 PM