The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Opera Boot Camp: Introduction to French Opera, Part 4

All tickets are sold out!

Saturday, September 15, 2018 1:00 PM

Debussy, Poulenc, and French Opera in the 20th Century
Presented by Naomi Barrettara

When Debussy’s Pelléas et Mélisande had its world premiere, audience reactions were contentiously mixed. More than 50 years later, Poulenc would describe his Dialogues des Carmélites as being influenced by Monteverdi, Verdi, Wagner, and Debussy. In this last session, we examine the musical, cultural, and social histories of these two works, as well as the threads of influence that connect them.

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Opera Boot Camp: Introduction to French Opera, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

April 2019>
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
1415161718
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Don Giovanni
8:00 PM
1920
21
Sunday, April 21, 2019
Backstage Tours
10:30 AM
Backstage Tours
1:30 PM
222324 25
Thursday, April 25, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:30 PM
26
Friday, April 26, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
8:00 PM
27
28
Sunday, April 28, 2019
At the Met: 50th Anniversary: Domingo
6:00 PM
29
Monday, April 29, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Das Rheingold
7:30 PM
30
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Divas & Dinner
6:00 PM
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:00 PM
1
Wednesday, May 01, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
2
Thursday, May 02, 2019
At the Met: Siegfried
6:00 PM
3
Friday, May 03, 2019
At the Met: SD: Dialogues des Carmélites
7:30 PM
4
56
Monday, May 06, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Das Rheingold
7:30 PM
7
Tuesday, May 07, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Die Walkure
6:00 PM
8 9
Thursday, May 09, 2019
At the Met: Siegfried
6:00 PM
10
Friday, May 10, 2019
At the Met: Score Desk: Rigoletto
7:30 PM
11