The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Part 1: Love at First Sight

To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Saturday, January 25, 2020 10:30 AM

Falling in love often happens fast and furiously in opera as characters move from polite introductions to passionate declarations of love in a matter of minutes. This lecture focuses on how different composers depict immediate infatuation between characters and the escalation of emotion. This session will also explore the expressive and theatrical nuances of some famous “love at first sight” scenes. Operas to be discussed include, but are not limited, to Puccini’s La Bohème, Wagner’s Der Fliegende Holländer, Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier, and Mozart’s The Magic Flute.

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Opera Boot Camp: For the Love of Opera, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

February 2020>
SMTWTFS
2627282930311
2345678
9101112131415
161718192021
Friday, February 21, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Così fan tutte
7:30 PM
22
Saturday, February 22, 2020
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
12:30 PM
At the Met: Agrippina
8:00 PM
23 2425
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
At the Met: Agrippina
7:30 PM
26
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
27
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Così fan tutte
7:30 PM
2829
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Agrippina
10:00 AM
At the Met: Agrippina
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Traviata
8:30 PM
1
Sunday, March 01, 2020
At the Met: National Council Grand Finals
3:00 PM
2 3
Tuesday, March 03, 2020
At the Met: Agrippina
7:30 PM
4
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Così fan tutte
7:30 PM
5
Thursday, March 05, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
6
Friday, March 06, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Fliegende Höllander
8:00 PM
7
Saturday, March 07, 2020
At the Met: Così fan tutte
1:00 PM
At the Met: Agrippina
8:00 PM