The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events

Wednesday, February 05, 2020 11:00 AM

The final session explores Slavic reactions to Wagner as seen in the operas of Tchaikovsky and Janác?ek. Although Tchaikovsky’s opinions about Wagner vacillated between admiration and revulsion, his The Queen of Spades exhibits several similarities to Wagner’s early operas. Janác?ek was considered the father of minimalism (arguably the opposite of Wagner’s romantic indulgence) and incessantly criticized Wagner’s “unconventional” compositions. Yet Kát’a Kabanová, inspired by Puccini’s Madama Butterfly, exhibits many conventional operatic gestures that are best seen in operas like Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde.

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Wagner Across Borders, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Quantity Price
Standard Price: $28.00
Member Price: $25.00
Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

August 2019>
SMTWTFS
28293031123
45678910
11121314151617
181920212223
Friday, August 23, 2019
HD Festival: Funny Face
5:30 PM
24
Saturday, August 24, 2019
HD Festival : Aida
5:30 PM
25
Sunday, August 25, 2019
HD Festival: Carmen
5:30 PM
26
Monday, August 26, 2019
HD Festival: Das Rheingold
5:30 PM
27
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
HD Festival: Dialogues des Carmelites
5:30 PM
28
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
HD Festival: Samson et Dalila
5:30 PM
29
Thursday, August 29, 2019
HD Festival: Cendrillon
5:30 PM
30
Friday, August 30, 2019
HD Festival: La Fanciulla del West
5:30 PM
31
Saturday, August 31, 2019
HD Festival: La Fille du Regiment
5:30 PM
1
Sunday, September 01, 2019
HD Festival: Luisa Miller
5:30 PM
2
Monday, September 02, 2019
HD Festival: Adriana Lecouvreur
5:30 PM
34567