The Metropolitan Opera Guild

Purchase Individual Events
To purchase tickets, please call 212-769-7028.

Wednesday, February 05, 2020 11:00 AM

The final session explores Slavic reactions to Wagner as seen in the operas of Tchaikovsky and Janác?ek. Although Tchaikovsky’s opinions about Wagner vacillated between admiration and revulsion, his The Queen of Spades exhibits several similarities to Wagner’s early operas. Janác?ek was considered the father of minimalism (arguably the opposite of Wagner’s romantic indulgence) and incessantly criticized Wagner’s “unconventional” compositions. Yet Kát’a Kabanová, inspired by Puccini’s Madama Butterfly, exhibits many conventional operatic gestures that are best seen in operas like Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde.

This course has four sessions. To purchase all sessions of Wagner Across Borders, please click here.

This session will be held in the Opera Learning Center, located on the 6th Floor of the Samuel B. and David Rose Building at Lincoln Center, 65th Street between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue. For questions, please call the LCE Ticket Line at 212-769-7028, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Become a
Guild Member
Join Now!
Subscribe to
OPERA NEWS
Get Started!
Visit the
Metropolitan Opera
Learn More!

February 2020>
SMTWTFS
2627282930311
2345678
9101112131415
161718192021
Friday, February 21, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Così fan tutte
7:30 PM
22
Saturday, February 22, 2020
At the Met: Le Nozze di Figaro
12:30 PM
At the Met: Agrippina
8:00 PM
23 2425
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
At the Met: Agrippina
7:30 PM
26
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
27
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Così fan tutte
7:30 PM
2829
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Agrippina
10:00 AM
At the Met: Agrippina
1:00 PM
At the Met: La Traviata
8:30 PM
1
Sunday, March 01, 2020
At the Met: National Council Grand Finals
3:00 PM
2 3
Tuesday, March 03, 2020
At the Met: Agrippina
7:30 PM
4
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Così fan tutte
7:30 PM
5
Thursday, March 05, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: La Traviata
7:30 PM
6
Friday, March 06, 2020
Backstage Tours
3:00 PM
At the Met: Der Fliegende Höllander
8:00 PM
7
Saturday, March 07, 2020
At the Met: Così fan tutte
1:00 PM
At the Met: Agrippina
8:00 PM